Skip to main content

Research groups

Research centres and groups

Research is consolidated within four main research groups:

  • Astrophysics (ASTRO),
  • Biomedical Physics (BIO), 
  • Electromagnetic and Acoustic Materials (EMAG),
  • Quantum Systems and Nanomaterials (QSN).  

The research groups provide critical mass for research themes that can attract scholars and funding from disparate sources. These themes link to cross-disciplinary areas identified and strongly supported by the University Science Strategy, and we collaborate closely with Engineering, Mathematics and the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences, as well as external partners such as the Met Office.

Research centres and research themes